Natural Gas Division

The Natural Gas Division represents the public interest with regard to the regulation of investor-owned and certain municipal natural gas utilities in Mississippi. There are three major local distribution companies in the state including Atmos Energy Corporation, CenterPoint Energy and Willmut Gas & Oil Company. The rates of these companies are regulated primarily through the use of formulary rate plans and special riders approved by the Mississippi Public Service Commission. This Division reviews periodic rate filings, petitions and other matters related to the distribution of natural gas and makes recommendations to the Commission. It also engages in on-going monitoring and auditing of the purchased gas adjustments of the three major local distribution companies and reports the results to the Commission monthly.