Clarification of order temporarily suspending disconnections of certain utility services.

Electric, Gas, and Communications

The Electric, Gas & Communications Division of the Mississippi Public Utilities Staff provides investigative and advisory services to the Mississippi Public Service Commission on matters related to electricity, natural gas, and telecommunications. It reviews and investigates applications for certificates of public convenience and necessity for new territories or facilities, petitions to change rates, petitions to change service rules and other miscellaneous filings. This Division also periodically examines the financial records of the utilities to insure that only allowable, necessary and prudently incurred expenses are included in rates. Furthermore, it monitors the return on investment of regulated utilities to insure that their earnings fall within a reasonable range as determined by the Commission. This Division is also engaged in ongoing, year-round audits of fuel adjustment clauses and purchased gas adjustments of the major investor-owned utilities in the state. 

The telecommunications group represents the public interest with regard to matters related to the regulation of incumbent and competitive local exchange carriers and intrastate long distance carriers in the state.

egc pic

(L-R)  Bill Hammett, Vicki Munn, Cherish Woods, Brandi Myrick, Donna Chandler,  Tera Agee , Angel Stenmark, Kendra Douglas

  • Division Director - Brandi Myrick
    brandi.myrick [at] -- 601-961-5419
  • Telecommunications Director - Donna Chandler
    donna.chandler [at] -- 601-961-5453
  • Engineer Tech - Tera Agee
    tera.agee [at] -- 601-961-5422
  • Accountant - Bill Hammett
    bill.hammett [at] -- 601-961-5830
  • Accountant - Vicki Munn
    vicki.munn [at] -- 601-961-5401
  • Accountant - Angel Stenmark
    angel.stenmark [at] -- 601-961-5407
  • Accountant - Cherish Woods
    cherish.woods [at] -- 601-961-5407
  • Administrative Assistant - Kendra Douglas
    kendra.douglas [at] -- 601-961-5415